Skip to main content

Awards & Honors

Grants, Awards and honors are important parameters for measuring scientific excellence.  At IMBA scientists are empowered to perform at their best and have demonstrated extraordinary achievements in research.


The European Research Council (ERC) was founded by the EU in 2007 to fund outstanding science. 10 years later, ERC grants stand out as the most prestigious award for high quality research in Europe. The sole selection criterion for an ERC grant is scientific excellence. The process is so competitive that only 11% of applications are funded, however, at IMBA and the Vienna BioCenter the success rate is higher than 60%.

At IMBA 9 out of 12 groups are currently funded by an ERC grant.

The Vienna BioCenter celebrates ERC's 10-year anniversary


Election to EMBO Membership is recognition of research excellence and the outstanding achievements made by a life scientist. 85 EMBO Members and Associate Members have been awarded Nobel Prizes. The annual nominations and elections ensure that the membership remains at the forefront of life science research. The EMBO Membership currently comprises more than 1700 life scientists.

At IMBA, 4 Group leaders are elected EMBO members, 2 group leaders were recently appointed EMBO Young Investigators.


Year Award Institution Person Group
2016 Selected for the Young Investigator Program (YIP) EMBO Ameres Stefan Ameres
2019 ERC Consolidator Grant European Research Council Ameres Stefan Ameres
2013 ERC Starting Grant European Research Council Ameres Stefan Ameres
2017 Life Science Call 2017 - Chemical Biology Vienna Science, Research and Technology Fund (WWTF) Ameres Stefan Ameres
2018 Houska-Award B&C Private Foundation Ameres Stefan Ameres
2018 ERC Proof of Concept Grant European Research Council Ameres Stefan Ameres
2015 Elected Member of the "Young Academy" Austrian Academy of Sciences Ameres Stefan Ameres
2013 START Prize Austrian Science Fund (FWF) Ameres Stefan Ameres
2019 Special Research Programmes (SFBs) Austrian Science Fund (FWF) Ameres Stefan Ameres
2009 Third Prize in FameLab finals FameLab UK, Cheltenham, GB Aronica Lucia Mochizuki
2009 FameLab Austria Award FameLab Austria Aronica Lucia Mochizuki
2011 VBC Summer School Prize (Sponsor: BD Biosciences) Vienna Biocenter Barisic Darko Martinez
2019 Kirsten Peter Rabitsch Award IMP - IMBA Batki Julia Brennecke
2014 Career Development Award International Human Frontier Science Program Organization (HFSP) Bell Oliver Bell
2013 OeAW Impulse Program Award New Frontiers Group Bell Oliver Bell
2005 VBC PhD Award Vienna Biocenter Betschinger Jörg Knoblich
2004 PhD Thesis Award Austrian Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Betschinger Jörg Knoblich
2007 VBC PhD Award Vienna Biocenter Bowman Sarah Knoblich
2010 ERC Starting Grant European Research Council Brennecke Julius Brennecke
2009 John Kendrew Young Scientist Award EMBL Brennecke Julius Brennecke