Skip to main content

Awards & Honors

Grants, Awards and honors are important parameters for measuring scientific excellence.  At IMBA scientists are empowered to perform at their best and have demonstrated extraordinary achievements in research.


The European Research Council (ERC) was founded by the EU in 2007 to fund outstanding science. 10 years later, ERC grants stand out as the most prestigious award for high quality research in Europe. The sole selection criterion for an ERC grant is scientific excellence. The process is so competitive that only 11% of applications are funded, however, at IMBA and the Vienna BioCenter the success rate is higher than 60%.

At IMBA 9 out of 12 groups are currently funded by an ERC grant.

The Vienna BioCenter celebrates ERC's 10-year anniversary


Election to EMBO Membership is recognition of research excellence and the outstanding achievements made by a life scientist. 85 EMBO Members and Associate Members have been awarded Nobel Prizes. The annual nominations and elections ensure that the membership remains at the forefront of life science research. The EMBO Membership currently comprises more than 1700 life scientists.

At IMBA, 4 Group leaders are elected EMBO members, 2 group leaders were recently appointed EMBO Young Investigators.


Year Award Institution Person Group
2010 ERC Advanced Investigator Grant European Research Council Knoblich Jürgen Knoblich
2010 Elected as Corresponding Member Austrian Academy of Sciences Knoblich Jürgen Knoblich
2010 Publication Prize for the paper: Hnisz D. 2010. PLoS Pathog. German Speaking Mycological Society (DMykG) Komnenovic Vukoslav
2010 Nature Structural Molecular Biology Poster Prize RNA Society, Seattle Kurth Henriette Mochizuki
2010 VBC PhD Award Vienna Biocenter Kurth Henriette Mochizuki
2010 Outstanding Scientist Technology Award Association of Bimolecular Resource Facilities Mechtler Karl
2010 Prize for the best PhD thesis FMI Basel Mohn Fabio Brennecke
2010 Best Poster Prize at "Analysis and Engineering of Biomolecular Systems FEBS Rodriguez Jesus Fernandez Marlovits
2010 Best Selected Talk at "Analysis and Engineering of Biomolecular Systems" FEBS Rodriguez Jesus Fernandez Marlovits
2010 VBC PhD Award Vienna Biocenter Schramek Daniel Penninger
2010 Best Poster Prize at the International meeting "Actin Dynamics" German society for cell biology Vinzenz Marlene Small
2009 FameLab Austria Award FameLab Austria Aronica Lucia Mochizuki
2009 Third Prize in FameLab finals FameLab UK, Cheltenham, GB Aronica Lucia Mochizuki
2009 John Kendrew Young Scientist Award EMBL Brennecke Julius Brennecke
2009 Research Award Austrian Association of Molecular Life Sciences and Biotechnology Holzmann Johann
2009 Research Award Sanofi-Aventis Foundation Holzmann Johann
2009 Wittgenstein Award Austrian Government Knoblich Jürgen Knoblich
2009 Poster Award EMBO Workshop, Vienna, Austria Kurth Henriette Mochizuki
2009 Theodor-Körner-Award Theodor Körner Fund, Vienna, Austria Meixner Arabella Penninger
2009 ESCI Award for Excellence in Biomedical Investigation European Society for Clinical Investigation Penninger Josef Penninger