Skip to main content

Awards & Honors

Grants, Awards and honors are important parameters for measuring scientific excellence.  At IMBA scientists are empowered to perform at their best and have demonstrated extraordinary achievements in research.


The European Research Council (ERC) was founded by the EU in 2007 to fund outstanding science. 10 years later, ERC grants stand out as the most prestigious award for high quality research in Europe. The sole selection criterion for an ERC grant is scientific excellence. The process is so competitive that only 11% of applications are funded, however, at IMBA and the Vienna BioCenter the success rate is higher than 60%.

At IMBA 9 out of 12 groups are currently funded by an ERC grant.

The Vienna BioCenter celebrates ERC's 10-year anniversary


Election to EMBO Membership is recognition of research excellence and the outstanding achievements made by a life scientist. 85 EMBO Members and Associate Members have been awarded Nobel Prizes. The annual nominations and elections ensure that the membership remains at the forefront of life science research. The EMBO Membership currently comprises more than 1700 life scientists.

At IMBA, 4 Group leaders are elected EMBO members, 2 group leaders were recently appointed EMBO Young Investigators.


Year Award Institution Person Group
2016 Selected for the Young Investigator Program (YIP) EMBO Ameres Stefan Ameres
2016 ERC Consolidator Grant European Research Council Brennecke Julius Brennecke
2016 VBC PhD Award Vienna Biocenter Ladstätter Sabrina Tachibana-Konwalski
2016 ERC Advanced Investigator Grant European Research Council Knoblich Jürgen Knoblich
2016 Kirsten Peter Rabitsch Award IMP - IMBA Mierzwa Beata Gerlich
2016 Selected for the Young Investigator Program (YIP) EMBO Tachibana-Konwalski Kikue Tachibana-Konwalski
2015 Elected Member of the "Young Academy" Austrian Academy of Sciences Ameres Stefan Ameres
2015 Winner of the Life Science Call for "Innovative biological and biomedical applications of novel imaging technologies" Vienna Science and Technology Fund (WWTF) Gerlich Daniel Gerlich
2015 ERC Proof of Concept Grant European Research Council Knoblich Jürgen Knoblich
2015 Elected Member EMBO Martinez Javier Martinez
2015 Elected Member European Academy of Sciences and Arts Penninger Josef Penninger
2014 Career Development Award International Human Frontier Science Program Organization (HFSP) Bell Oliver Bell
2014 Elected Member EMBO Brennecke Julius Brennecke
2014 ERC Consolidator Grant European Research Council Ikeda Fumiyo Ikeda
2014 Eppendorf Award for Young European Investigators Eppendorf Lancaster Madeline Knoblich
2014 Best Paper Award Jubilee Fund of the City of Vienna for the Austrian Academy of Sciences Lancaster Madeline Knoblich
2014 Winner of the Austrian Science Slam Championship Science Slam Austria Moder Martin Knoblich
2014 Winner of the European Science Slam Finale, Copenhagen Science Slam Europe Moder Martin Knoblich
2014 Wittgenstein Award Austrian Government Penninger Josef Penninger
2014 Honorary Award for Basic Science German Society for Cardiology Penninger Josef Penninger